Flourless Chocolate Feather-cake

A really easy chocolate cake for someone that really hates baking cakes.  Janine – this one won’t have to go through the kitchen window! So for your birthday …… try this.

Ingredients

400 g chopped 75 % Lindt chocolate
6 eggs
95 g muscovado (or dark brown) sugar
2 tablespoons good brandy
250 ml heavy double cream

250 ml pouring (whipping cream)
Nella’s figs
Icing sugar for dusting

What to do

Pre-heat oven to 180 C.
Grease and line base and side of 26 cm spring form cake tin with baking powder.

Melt chocolate in heatproof bowl over simmering water, stirring until smooth – then remove from heat and allow to cool.
Put the eggs, sugar and brandy (if you don’t like to use alcohol, reduce fresh orange juice and a spot of honey until you get a thick syrup and use that instead) in a separate heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water, whisking continuously until the mixture doubles in volume.
Remove from the heat, fold in the cooled chocolate and then fold in the thick cream – mixing it well to combine. Pour this into the prepared cake tin.
Half fill a large roasting pan with hot water and place it, as well as the cake, at the bottom of the oven on the lowest rack.  It will steam bake – heating through the cake evenly.
Bake for 40 minutes until the skewer comes out cleanly.
Allow the cake to cool in the tin before you turn it out.
Turn it into the serving dish – this cake does not like to travel, not that it ever needs to.
It rarely makes it out of the kitchen intact – and if you are really lucky someone may honour you with one.  Realise then that it is, indeed, an honour.

Dust the cake and serve with cream and my baby sister, Nelle’s, green preserved figs if you can ever get them.
One of these particular figs is worth a thousand times more than a case of the Moet & Chandon I suggest one drinks with this cake.  They are spicy, mystical and the stuff dreams are made of.
I can never forget the taste and they have ruined all other preserved figs for me.
Janine – I can give you no greater birthday gift.
Happy Birthday sweetheart.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Flourless Chocolate Feather-cake

  1. Pure decadence! wow. Looks great. I am a chocoholic so this is definitely up my alley.🙂

  2. A kindred soul! I’m “addicted” to the stuff ……….

  3. Okay, so where does this fit into my weight watchers plan – you cruel woman, tempting the weak like this!

  4. Oh allright then ….. since it’s you I’ll do a really unfattening one this weekend.

    Just remember that real chocolate is not fattening and very good for you. Buy Lindt 85% (I’m hooked on it now and have influenced everyone around me) – one little block and that’s it. Craving gone.

  5. This looks awesome! Our son has celiac disease and therefore cannot eat wheat flour…but this looks like the PERFECT cake for his celebrations! (And I noticed the next post also has a gluten-free meringue cake…I hit the jackpot today!)

    This is my first visit to your blog — and I wish I had more time to browse tonight! I love the pictures, the history, the heart you put into the recipes! Thanks!

  6. My son went through a wheat free faze for three years, so I’m quite and old hand!

    One article on wheat free food coming up – I’m sure you already know more than me, but just in case ….

  7. Lisa

    Great site – when is the book due? Would love to have your book on my shelf!

  8. We’ll have to see ….. you volunteering to help?

    Look out for next week – we’re celebrating the dotcom with lots of celebratory stuff for a whole week, including quite a bit on champagne – which we thought was suitable for celebration.

Leave a Reply

